Lots of little things

Over the last couple weeks, I’ve been working on lots of little things.

The big news is, I wrote a guest blog post for Qwear, a fashion I blog I discovered while doing research for my business class. The post is about skirts in (mostly high-fashion) menswear and what women who want to wear skirts without looking too feminine can take away from those menswear looks.

I finished my apron and am almost done with my skirt for sewing class. They both turned out well (if I do say so myself). I might even wear the skirt. Taking tips from my guest post, of course!

Tiny (“toddler-sized”) apron!

Me-sized skirt!

You can’t quite tell from the photo, but the skirt fabric is striped and cut on the bias so it forms a V at center front and center back. One of the challenges of this assignment is to learn to match stripes, and I didn’t realize what I was getting myself into when I picked teeny-tiny ones.

Cute, right?

I began my first Burda Style pattern. It’s a boy’s button-down shirt–I figured the biggest boy’s size is more likely to fit me well than the smallest men’s size. My aim is to make something along the lines of a scout/ranger shirt. It’s funny, I realized as I was starting the project, thinking about how I wanted to modify the sleeves and pockets, that I pretty much had my old National Park Service uniform shirt in mind (I worked as a fee collector at Shenandoah NP for a summer right after college). I dug out the bagful of uniforms I’ve been schlepping around for almost a decade (Because hey, maybe I’ll go back one day!) and discovered that, yep, it’s been an unconscious inspiration for a lot of what I’ve been designing lately.

And finally, I tried to make an old-t-shirt skirt for S but it didn’t turn out like I’d hoped. It looks promising on it own, but when she put it on it didn’t have any flare (or flair. probably because of the lack of flare.) I have some ideas about why this is and what I can do to fix it, but for now, it goes back in the “in progress” pile.

skirt in progress

Oh also, I’m really excited about neckerchiefs all of a sudden, and I cannot find nearly enough pictures of girls wearing them. So, I will be spearheading the trend. Fall 2013, neckerchiefs will be must-have. You heard it here first.

This entry was posted in Resume Food, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

